ALABAMA LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY ANNOUNCES ONLINE
DRIVER LICENSE RENEWALS AND DIGITAL LICENSES ARE AVAILABLE FOR ALABAMA
JULY 23, 2015)
FOR ASSISTANCE WITH TESTING
OR OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE TRANSFERS OR LICENSE ENDORSEMENT CHANGES OR STAR I.D. CONTACT THE
ATHENS ALEA STATE OFFICE AT (256) 233-4152 OR THE DECATUR ALEA OFFICE AT (256)
>>> PLEASE NOTE THAT ON
FRIDAY, OCTOBER 2, 2015 THE ATHENS ALEA STATE OFFICE IS CLOSED. OFFICE SHOULD
RE-OPEN NEXT WEEK. <<<
FOR ASSISTANCE WITH ALABAMA
DRIVER LICENSE RENEWAL OR I.D. RENEWAL OR REPLACEMENT LICENSES CONTACT THE
LICENSE COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE AT (256) 233-6430.
All laws and regulations related to an Alabama driver license and non
driver identification cards are administered by the
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA),
Driver License Unit. To view State
Driver License office locations and
here). In Limestone County, the representative of the State
Athens office is
the driver license examiner located on the first floor
Clinton Street Courthouse Annex at 100 South Clinton Street. Currently there is
one examiner assigned to the Athens location. For office
hours and services offered you may wish to call at (256) 233-4152. If the driver
license examiner is unavailable due to testing or if you wish to inquire with
supervision of the Athens office, you may call the State ALEA Decatur office at (256)
If you are applying for a new driver license, a learner's license, a new ID
card, a motorcycle operator license, or
boat operator's license, then you will test with the State
license examiner. If you are transferring an out-of-state driver license
to an Alabama driver license or changing endorsements or
restrictions to your current Alabama license, then you also must receive approval from the State
ALEA driver license examiner. Supporting document requirements
restrictions for new licenses and identification cards
approved by the
ALEA Driver License Unit.
Effective February 9, 2015 the Alabama Law Enforcement
Agency, Driver License Unit increased driver license and non-driver
identification fees by $12.75 to $36.25. The new fee to transfer a valid out of
state driver license is $41.25. For a list of the new fees
Beginning May 1, 2013, Alabama veterans may have the
option of displaying proof of military service on their driver license issued by
the State ALEA offices.
Click here for more information.
In 2012, Alabama Driver License Unit developed the
STAR ID program to comply with
the federal requirements of the REAL-ID Act of 2005. Once the provision of the
REAL-ID goes into effect, those persons who do not possess a
valid, unexpired US passport will need a STAR ID to board commercial aircraft
for domestic flights or to enter certain regulated federal facilities. STAR ID
is available to qualified individuals at any State ALEA office. To view a list
of frequently asked questions about the STAR ID program
In 2009, the Alabama Legislature
increased the cost of driver licenses and non-driver licenses by 50 cents to add
funding for the Veterans Living Legacy Act Citizenship fund.
In 2008, the Alabama Driver License Unit began a program to allow the scheduling of the road skills test in
Huntsville at their state office at 1115-A Church Street. If you would like to
schedule by phone, their number is (256) 539-0682. In 2014 online scheduling was
added for the Decatur office and their phone number is (256) 351-4665. If you wish to schedule
for the ALEA website link.
In 2007, the Department added a new
office serving on Wednesday only for military and service personnel at Redstone
Arsenal. For office hours and services offered you may wish to call at (256)
The written examination and authorization fee is $5.00 per test. The driver
license card issuance fee is $36.25. The State
ALEA office accepts cash
and bankcards only.
To renew your existing Alabama driver license or to apply for duplicate
license that is lost, you may apply in the License Commissioner's office. The fee for the replacement license is $31.25.
To renew the Class D driver license, the fee is $36.25 and your expiration date is extended by four
years. A new or renewal fee of the Class A commercial driver license is $66.25.
Alabama Law allows an additional sixty (60) days to
operate your vehicle beyond the listed expiration date on your Alabama license
card without citation. It is recommended that you renew your driver license
before attempting to board a commercial flight or drive out-of-state, since most
officials will not be aware of the sixty (60) day grace period. A driver may
renew their license card at any county licensing office in Alabama. Always
verify your personal information for accuracy when you renew or replace your
A permanent license card will be mailed within thirty days. If you do not
receive your license in 30 days, then contact the state agency at 334-242-4400.
A nonresident who has a valid driver license from the state of previous
residence may drive without an Alabama license for 30 days after becoming
a resident of the state.
A nonresident at least 16 years old who has in his immediate possession
a valid driver license issued to him in his home state or country and is
properly enrolled and registered in a school or college in this state may
operate a vehicle without an Alabama driver license. Likewise,
military personnel from other states and their families stationed in
Alabama are not required to obtain an Alabama driver license as long as
they hold a valid driver license from their home state or country.
If you would like to download the driver
license manual, or learn about the documents required by the State
for new drivers or transferring your out-of-state driver license, then visit the web site at the
License Unit, Alabama Law